Day 29: How to be Featured June 1st :)

Today was very busy workday for me.  One of those days where you pretty much never stop moving.  So much so that when you get home it feels like you can finally breathe.

Can anyone else relate?

Okay, so for those of you who follow me on facebook, you might know that yesterday I posted asking you guys what you do everyday to make yourself happy.  (I’m going to start doing more posts like these to feature you guys more, so look forward to that 🙂 )

Also, be sure to read the end of this post for how you can be featured in an upcoming post.

Image

I asked this particular question for a reason.

A few days ago, I went for a walk with my mom.  I don’t remember how, but we started talking about just how quickly life can end.  She brought up someone she knew.  He was one of the healthiest people.  He exercised everyday, and he always made sure to eat super super healthy.  Out of nowhere, he started to have heart pains, and actually needed heart surgery that same day!  If he didn’t go to the hospital he chose to go to, he would have died.  What did he say to her after this experience?  Never exercise.  Now, this was coming from someone who literally preached to always exercise.  Unfortunately, it did not make him happy.  He dreaded having to go to the gym everyday, and his only intention for doing it was because he knew it was good for him.

So what do I want you guys to get out of this story?

No, I’m not telling you to stop exercising.  For many of us, exercising is a way of life, and it is a way to relieve stress (like some of you said).

I know me personally, I hate ellipticals, and even though I’ll do it from time to time, generally I hate running on treadmills or running in general.

Therefore, even though I know they’re good for me, I choose to not do them everyday.

On the other hand, I absolutely love pilates and strength training.  These make me happy and I feel good and relaxed while doing them.

You can also take this lesson in regards to diet.  There are certain health foods I just cannot stand.  Like milk.  My entire life, I have absolutely hated milk and cheese, and even if they are filled with calcium, I just cannot make myself enjoy them.

Don’t force yourself to do or have things just because other people say they’re good for you.  Just like you shouldn’t stick to a certain diet just because someone else says it’s right for you.  Only you know what you like, and only you know what’ll make you happy.

I strongly recommend incorporating treats into your diet if that’s what you like.  I also recommend incorporating fruits and vegetables that taste good to you.  It works both ways, and the more balance you find between them, the more satisfied and happy with your diet you’ll be.

Finally, I want you to think of something that makes you happy that you can do everyday.  Whether it be going for a walk, watching your favorite tv show, or even play ps3 for awhile.  It’s okay to be lazy and unproductive from time to time.  We need to spoil ourselves because unfortunately, anything can happen at anytime.

Let me know in either the comments, on my facebook page, or tweet me to let me know what you’ll do to make you happy.

On June 1st, I’m going to put all of your answers together into one big list we can refer back to when we want to find a bit of happiness from time to time 🙂

Leave a Reply

