Kombucha- Day 1: Initiation of the Scoby

For those of you who have read my blog before, I am sure you know that I love… like literally LOVE kombucha.

The only problem is, generally, it’s about four dollars per bottle.  This wouldn’t be so bad… except for the fact I wish I could have it every single day.

Rather than blowing all of my savings on a ton of bottles of kombucha, I decided to take initiative and brew my own.

I began to research it, and turns out it’s not that difficult.  If I wanted to, I could even purchase a kit for about 60 bucks.

I could even purchase a scoby, but I wanted to go through all of the processes I could go through, so I decided to make my own.

I wanted to see just how inexpensive I could make this project.

Okay, so all I have purchased so far is a one gallon glass jar.  Make sure it is all glass.

Image

I spent about 9 dollars total on this.

I also already had a 24 ounce mason jar, which is what I used to start growing my scoby.

Speaking on which, let’s get into how to do so.

(make sure all of your equipment is super clean).

You are going to need

1. 1 24 ounce mason jar

2. 1 cup of GT’s natural kombucha (or some other brand… it has to be in its’ simplest form though).

3. 2 tbsp sugar

4. 1 cup water

5. 1 tea bag (I used green tea)

6. 2 paper towels

7. a rubberband or something to secure your paper towels

Pour your kombucha into your jar.

Image

Boil the cup of water, and add in the sugar

Allow to dissolve, and add the tea bag.

Keep covered, but remove from the heat.

Allow to cool.  This takes a few hours, but it’s important for the water to be completely cooled off.

Image

Once cool, remove the tea bag, and add to your mason jar.

Image

Place the two paper towels on top and secure.

Image

I used a headband… I didn’t feel like searching for a rubber band 🙂

This now has to sit for about a week before a scoby will be ready to use.

I am going to be taking pictures and documenting this process everyday so you guys can follow along.

I don’t know for sure that this will work out since I’ve never tried before, but you guys will be able to follow me through all the ups and downs of this process.

If this does work, I’ll pretty much have as much kombucha as I could want! 🙂

One thought on “Kombucha- Day 1: Initiation of the Scoby

  1. Pingback: Kombucha- Day 2 | Healthy Living Revelations

Leave a Reply

