Kombucha : Day 7- Stage 2

So today I decided it was time to move onto the next step in this process.  I wasn’t 100% sure the scoby was ready, but I figured it would be better to transfer jars and give it more tea to feed off of than risk it sitting too long.

It still needs to grow for another 7-14 days, so I think I should be good.

Remember, this is my first time doing this.

Okay, so for stage 2, start by boiling 4 cups of water in a pan.

Add in 2 more tea bags.  This time, I used black tea.

Stir in 1/3 cup of sugar.

Image

Remove from the heat, and allow to come to room temperature covered.

While it’s cooling, transfer the liquid the scoby is in into a one gallon glass jar.

If you want to know where to get a jar, check out my favorite page.

Add in the cooled tea when it’s ready.

Image

Cover the jar with 2 more paper towels, a rubber band (or headband… 🙂 ) and place the jar back to where it was before.

Image

Stage 2 complete 🙂

Leave a Reply

