Daily Blog- Day 42: When to Take a Break From Exercise

I know technically it’s a bit early in the day to be writing my daily blog for the day, but I really wanted to touch on a topic I think a lot of people who fall into a workout routine struggle with.

For those of you who read my blog, you probably know that I took the weekend off from working out.  I could feel that my body really needed it, and it was worth it.  I felt much better yesterday and was able to get through a workout.

Today though, I went back to not feeling well, and even after trying to get into something my body was just not having it.

I feel like people assume that if you skip a workout it automatically means you are lazy and unmotivated.  Like it’s so much better to push yourself when your body really shouldn’t be pushed than to take it easy.

If you can feel that your body is telling you to rest, REST!  Your body knows itself better than any personal trainer or fitness expert.

I don’t want to get into details for what’s going on or why, but I need a break.  I’ve decided that I’m going to start with a week off.  This may last longer, but I know that at minimum I need a week.

Exercising should fuel your soul and help you to feel energized and alive.  Not the exact opposite.

Sometimes actually taking a break can increase your fitness journey and make you that much stronger in the end.

If you want to read more about this I have found a few articles that I feel really summarizes what I’m trying to say well.

http://blog.womenshealthmag.com/scoop/should-you-take-a-break-from-working-out/

http://www.nydailynews.com/life-style/health/exercising-5-ways-article-1.1310556

http://www.everydayhealth.com/fitness-pictures/reasons-to-skip-a-workout.aspx#/slide-1

Image

3 thoughts on “Daily Blog- Day 42: When to Take a Break From Exercise

  1. Your blog came at the perfect time. I’ve been training for my 2ND race and have been pushing myself harder each day. I had been contemplating a break for a day or two but felt reluctant to do so.
    You’re completely right; my body needs a break. My legs will thank me for it this weekend… hopefully placing top 3 🙂

    • Props to you for training for a race! Runners especially really need to pay attention to their body. There can be some pretty scary side effects of overrunning. Taking that break will help you to come back so much stronger I promise you that! Good luck, and I’d love to know how you do 🙂

  2. Pingback: What Happens After Taking A Break From Exercise? | Healthy Living Revelations

Leave a Reply

