Homemade, Healthy Whole Wheat English Muffins

When I was grocery shopping the other day, I wanted to get english muffins.

I wasn’t really willing to spend a lot of money on them though.

Unfortunately, the only ones that were the right price for me were extremely processed.

Even though I don’t follow a strictly unprocessed diet, I try to have unprocessed foods if I can.

In regards to making a purchase as simple as english muffins, there were definitely other, healthier choices I could’ve made.

Turns out, the most cost efficient and least processed way would be for me to make them myself.

Since I have made my own bagels and breads in the past, I had yeast at home.

I also already had whole wheat flour.

Image

Pretty much, those are the main ingredients.

I could easily make multiple batches of english muffins with products I already had at home.

It really doesn’t get much better.

This particular recipe I found on pinterest.

Here is the link to the actual recipe if you’d like to see it.

I have made a few adjustments to the recipe itself and procedure, but ultimately, the result is similar enough.

You are going to need

1. 2 1/4 cups whole wheat pastry flour (I prefer the texture of pastry flour in recipes)

2. 2 tsp honey

3. 1/2 tsp salt

4. 1 1/4 tsp yeast

5. 1 tbsp butter (melted)

6. 1 cup milk (start with just 3/4 then add until the right consistency)

I used almond coconut milk, but you can use whichever kind you’d like

Image

7. cornmeal

Microwave 3/4 cups of milk with the honey for 30 seconds.  Add the yeast, and allow to sit for at least five minutes.

Image

Meanwhile, in a mixer with the paddle attachment, combine the flour, salt, and melted butter.

Once the five minutes is up, add the milk to the dry ingredients.

Image

Stir, and slowly add more milk if needed just so the mixture is combined to form a ball.

Keep mixing until the dough is no longer sticky and is elastic.  This could take between 5 and 15 minutes.

It takes practice to know when the dough is right, but practice makes perfect.

Lightly oil a bowl and knead the dough a few more times.

Image

Then, place it in the bowl and covering with a paper towel for an hour.

Image

You will know it is ready when the dough is about twice the size.

Image

When it’s ready, form into six balls, and cover again so they can rise for another hour.

Image

When ready, heat a pan and heat the muffins on each side just to develop a crust.  This should take about 3 to 5 minutes per side.

Image

Sprinkle a piece of parchment paper with cornmeal, and place in a 350F oven for 5 to 8 minutes or until lightly browned.

Image

You can freeze these for up to a month or enjoy after they cool for a little bit.

Leave a Reply

