What Happens After Taking A Break From Exercise?

If you guys have read one of my recent posts, (click here), then you know that I have decided to take a break from my exercise routine.

I have heard many many stories from other people about how when they take a break, jumping back into a routine can be the hardest thing.  Sometimes it’s actually very discouraging.

All of the hard work that you put into reaching a certain fitness level can suddenly be gone in just a matter of weeks.

The Healthy Helper recently posted about this topic, and it really made me think about my experiences in the past with this.

For those of you who don’t know, I have been a dancer for 14 years of my life.

The dance season for me would run from September until June.  July and August I would generally not dance at all.

I very vividly remember the feeling of going back that first day only to discover all of the technique I had perfected the past year had been lost.

I also remember that I was always able to get it back.  Yes, it would take a few weeks, but muscle memory would kick in and I’d be back to where I started.

In regards to my strength, I have definitely gained so much in the past 6 months.  It worries me that all of that will be for nothing.

I definitely have to keep reminding myself of why I’m taking a break.  Also, taking this break will for sure help me to grow even stronger even if when I start back up my strength won’t be as great as when I stopped.

One step back two steps forward right?

It’s definitely a discouraging experience, but at the end it will be worth it.  Health and vitality come first, and really we have our whole lives to exercise.  I would much rather enjoy my time during it rather than struggling through 🙂

I’d love to hear your stories in regards to this subject.  Either leave a comment or email me at kzdrowak820@gmail.com.

For those of you who are going through something similar, I’m planning on doing a series about how I ease back into a routine.  Let me know if you’d be interested in this.

One thought on “What Happens After Taking A Break From Exercise?

  1. Good for you for taking a break girl! I take a few week long breaks numerous times during the year to reset my system and give my body the rest it truly deserves. But in the past because of injuries I’ve had to take much longer breaks! It’s hard at first but so worth it because you really do come back stronger and NOT burnt out like you would be if you kept pushing your body to its limits! You’ll really like your time off and learn that exercise is not everything. And in the grand scheme of things, a few weeks or even months off means nothing! We have long lives to live!

Leave a Reply

