Control

I tend to evaluate a lot of things that go on in my life.  Sometimes it’s as simple as how people respond to things I do, and sometimes it’s as complicated as how my own thoughts influence the way the rest of my life runs. 

Think about it.  When you’re running errands by yourself or just getting things done around the house, you’re in your own mind.  Even if you try right now not to think, it’s impossible.  We’re always thinking.  Always processing.  

I’ve noticed that during certain times in my life, I’ll think of specific things more often.  If I’m working a lot, I am probably always thinking about work even if I’m resting.  If I get in a really bad fight with someone or miss someone, they’re probably always on my mind.  Sometimes though, I don’t want to be thinking about these things.  To prevent it, I try to find something to preoccupy my mind.  

So now why do I bring this up? 

I bring this up because I feel like many people go through this.  We all go through very difficult times at one point or another, and it can be extremely frustrated when all you want is a break.  Unfortunately, getting that break may seem nearly impossible.

It can be done though… but all too often it’s done in the wrong ways. 

When we feel like our lives our out of control, naturally, we’ll try to find something that we easily CAN control.  This is how a lot of dangerous habits happen.  I’m not going to get into specific ones… I feel like we’ve all been touched by at least one at some point.  Whether in our personal lives or with close relationships.  

So how can shifting control be beneficial?  

Through my experiences, I have found that a shift in control is the same as a shift in energy.  Think about what aspects of your life you really want to excel in or be successful in.  

Money?  Your job?  Your health? 

All take a lot of energy and a lot of focus.  Imagine though.  If we could train ourselves to take bad situations in our lives and shift it so we make more money or get a promotion, our achievements can be set so much higher.  Bad times are going to come to all of us in life.  That’s just the way life is.  Why make the bad worse when we can make ourselves better?  

Think about it. 

Leave a Reply

