Kombucha Brewing 2: Day 1

I only have one thing to say about my last attempt to home brew kombucha: Epic Fail…. epic epic epic EPIC fail.

I’m not one to give up though.

This time, we’re going to do things differently.  We’re going to do things right.

It’s all going to start form the beginning… right now.

With a REAL scoby.

After trying to actually grow one last time, I read about it only to find it’s a lot better to start with one and grow more form there.

Even though it is still a temperamental process, the chances of it working go up exponentially.

I was lucky enough to be able to receive a scoby.

You have no idea how excited I was when I got it.  I was even more excited to get home and get things going.

Before starting though, I had to make sure to clean EVERYTHING.  Literally everything, from your hands to every piece of equipment the scoby will touch.

Clean everything with white vinegar and hot water.

Image

Once everything is clean, transfer the scoby into a glass jar, cover and secure with a paper towel and rubber band.

Image

Place in the fridge until ready to use.

You’re going to need about 3 1/2 quarts of water for this.  I only used 3 because I only had enough water bottles in the house for 3 quarts.  Note: You need to use distilled water or at least water bottles.  The chlorine in regular water can damage the scoby.  Like I said… very temperamental.

IMG_3792

You are also going to need 1/2 cup of tea leaves.  Not tea bags or any flavored tea.  Straight up green or black tea leaves.

I used green in this case.

Finally you’re going to need 1 cup of sugar.  I just used granulated sugar because that’s all I had.  I wish I could’ve used pure cane sugar, but hey we all have to be rebels in some way right?

Image

Start off by pouring all of your water into a large pot.

Image

Make sure you disinfect the pot as well.

Cover and allow to come only to a simmer.

Pour in your sugar and let it dissolve.

Once it’s dissolved, then you can bring your water to a boil.

Add your tea leaves, and remove from the heat.

Leave the mixture covered until it’s cool.  I allowed it to sit overnight.

Once cool, pour your scoby along with at least 1/2 cup of started fluid into a 1 gallon mason jar.

Strain in your liquid (to remove all the tea leaves).  Do this very very carefully.

Image

Cover with a paper towel and secure with a rubber band.

Place in a dark place where it won’t be disturbed.

Now all you have to do is wait!

I’ll check back in with you guys tomorrow for day 2!

One thought on “Kombucha Brewing 2: Day 1

  1. Pingback: Daily Blog: Day 140: You’re Doing it Wrong… | Healthy Living Revelations

Leave a Reply

