Superfood Kale Granola

I have a really cool recipe for you guys today 🙂

Okay, so since I had the day off today, it was an experimenting day for me.

I knew I wanted to make granola.  Problem is, we didn’t have enough oats in the house to make a decent batch.

Also, my stock of nuts and dried fruit is definitely lower than I would like.

Either I had to go to the store to get some more ingredients or make due with what I had on hand.

Thinking economically, I decided to go with the second option.

I had kale, dried figs, walnuts, and cooked quinoa.

Since I still wanted to make granola, I decided to go way outside the box and transform my past experience with these ingredients into a crunchy, clustery treat.

That’s exactly what I got :).

You are going to need

1. 3 large handfuls of kale (washed and cut into bite sized pieces)

2. 5 dried turkish figs (or dates)

Image

     3. 1/2 cup hot water

4. 1 tbsp melted coconut oil

5. 1 tsp vanilla

6. 1/2 tsp cinnamon

7. pinch of salt

8. 1 scoop Green Superfood Chocolate Drink Powder (optional)

Check out my favorites page to see where to get this

Image

     9. 1/2 cup of already cooked quinoa

10. 1/2 cup walnuts

11. 1/4 cup dried cherries (optional)

Start off by soaking your figs in the warm water for a few hours.

Preheat your oven to 275F

Blend the figs and water in a vitamix or high quality blender along with the vanilla, cinnamon, salt, drink powder, and coconut oil until a paste like consistency.

Put your kale in a bowl

Image

Add in the mixture

Image

Stir and then add in the quinoa and walnuts (wait for the dried cherries if using)

Image

Spread the mixture on two baking sheets and bake for 30 minutes.  Keep checking it every five minutes after the 30 minutes is up.

Image

Total it took me about 50 I just wanted to be safe with 30.

Stir in your dried cherries and enjoy!

Image

This is unbelievable with coconut milk and a banana (like you would have cereal).

It is packed with amazing superfoods as well.

To learn more about a few check out these posts.

1. Quinoa

2. Kale

3. Coconut Oil

4. Amazing Greens Chocolate Drink Powder

5. Cinnamon

6. Walnuts

Leave a Reply

