Daily Blog- Day 93: Are Crazy Diets Crazy?

Being a healthy blogger, I am definitely exposed to the various diets out there.

You may know that I started reading the book Drop Dead Healthy by A.J. Jacobs.  Even though I’m only about 40 pages in, I’ve already developed a new insight on all these diet choices people are making.

One in particular is known as the Paleo diet.  Hear of it?  I’m sure you have, but just in case you’re not sure what it is, it’s pretty much reverting your diet back to fit the Paleolithic Era.  You eat what the caveman ate.   So pretty much a diet consisting of a lot of grown foods and meat…. a whole lot of meat.

Turns out a lot of people take this diet further and actually make it their lifestyle.  Not only do they eat like a caveman, they live like one.

In the book, the author participates in a “workout” class lead by a man who lives this lifestyle.  He proudly states how he refuses to shave or clean in the way we normally would since they cavemen wouldn’t have.

He’s single.

What surprised me the most is the fact that absolutely no one in the group looked at him weird because of this.  In fact, one man actually told him he didn’t think he was living the lifestyle enough.  He thought he should go as far as only eating his meat raw…

This mindset doesn’t stop with Paleo diets, in fact it pretty much applies to everyone.

I’m not saying that we all choose to throw rocks for exercise or eat bugs for protein, but we do all tend to listen to one higher power.  That higher power is what tells us what is and isn’t good for OUR bodies.  Just like those runners all listened to the leader without a second thought.

Take magazines for example.  I have read some pretty absurd articles or headlines before.  Some that I know would not be at all good for me.  Yet people still listen.  It’s because we’ve almost conformed to this new lifestyle where the media decides what is and isn’t good for us.

I’ve heard plenty of people talk about how people who follow these paleo or even vegan lifestyles are crazy,  but from them I hear the opposite.  They think everyone else is crazy!

Just a little food for thought for you guys.  There’s a lot out there in regards to what is and isn’t good for you, and it can be overwhelming to take it all in and process.

At the end of the day, I’ve found one common likeness between every single popular lifestyle I have read about.  Eat a lot of fruits, vegetables, whole foods, and listen to your body.

Also everything in moderation 🙂

Okay I’m off to work!

3 thoughts on “Daily Blog- Day 93: Are Crazy Diets Crazy?

    • I’ve thought about it and other diets… until I actually realize what I’d have to give up to follow them haha. I think it’s “bloggers syndrome” or something. We’re all super intrigued by these popular diets.

Leave a Reply

