Blogging For Good: Second Harvest Food Bank #CFLGood

I absolutely love writing this blog, but I feel like I need to do more with it.  Not in regards to writing more recipes or writing more posts in general, but I feel like the social media is one of the best ways to spread awareness about causes and organizations.

One organization in general has really touched me lately.  It’s touched me a lot more than I thought it would.

It’s the Second Harvest Food Bank.  They work to decrease hunger throughout Central Florida… where 1 in 5 people suffer from it.

I was recently down in Florida to visit family.  I did a lot of people watching… like a lot of people watching.  By the time I left, I felt like I had seen almost all of the residents in Florida.  Okay, not really, but I did see a ton.

Why am I telling you this?  I am because through that watching, I didn’t see a single person I expected to be suffering from hunger.  Hence why that 1 in 5 statistic really shocked me.

I think all too often when we think of hunger, we think of people laying on the ground pretty much without any clothes on with a skeletal appearance.  We almost refuse to picture those individuals as a normal everyday average Joe.

I don’t think we realize just how many people don’t have the luxury to go in the cabinet and grab whatever they want to eat.  I don’t think we’re aware of just how serious this problem is.

Now, I’m not writing this post to try to get you to donate your life savings to this program or any program.  I am writing this post though to make you stop and think.  (Yes, I’m MAKING you… if you haven’t yet do it now 🙂 ).

Just think of how many of your classmates or friends might be dealing with this than you realize.  After all, we really only know what they decide to tell us.

If you are interested in helping out in someway, you can do more than just donating (of course you could just donate if you wanted).  For more information, visit http://www.foodbankcentralflorida.org.  Even if you’re not looking to contribute, I really recommend reading some of the stories on there.  This story about Luis affected me the most.

Write in the comments which of the stories was your favorite.  Also, write how you plan to contribute to helping hunger in your everyday life.

Along with donating, I am going to start actually using up what I buy from the grocery store before getting more.  That way, I’ll be throwing out less.

2 thoughts on “Blogging For Good: Second Harvest Food Bank #CFLGood

Leave a Reply

