Homemade Slow Cooker Apple Butter

After I discovered apple butter last fall, I have been addicted.  I was more than willing to pay the 5+ dollars for a jar just because it was so good.

That is until I found I could make my own.

We had a whole bag of apples that were just about to go bad.  Rather than throwing all of them out, I decided to put them to good use with my slow cooker.

IMG_4868

So after this whole process, I ended up with almost a gallon of homemade, fresh apple butter for literally no cost to me!

Plus it freezes well, so I don’t have to try to eat it all within a few weeks.

The recipe is extremely simple.  You are going to need

1. about 2 cups apple cider

2. 14 apples (I just used what we had at home… use whatever kind you like best)

3. cinnamon and nutmeg to taste

4. lemon juice (optional)

IMG_4866

Start off by washing, coring and quartering your apples.

IMG_4872

IMG_4871

IMG_4874

IMG_4875

You don’t have to peel them.  Why leave out the nutrients?  🙂

I tossed mine in lemon juice in separate batches at this point just to preserve the apples.

Place your apples and apple cider in your slow cooker.  Allow to cook down for 4 hours on high.

IMG_4877

After the 4 hours, mash your apples

IMG_4916

IMG_4917

Then transfer to a blender and blend until completely smooth.

IMG_4918

I had to do this in two separate batches.

Return to the slow cooker and allow to thicken while still on high for about 3 more hours or until desired thickness.  Leave the lid off for this.

Then add in your cinnamon and nutmeg.

IMG_4931

2 thoughts on “Homemade Slow Cooker Apple Butter

  1. Pingback: #FallBlogChallenge Week 1- Apple Week! | Healthy Living Revelations

  2. Pingback: #FallBlogChallenge Apple Week: Breakfast Apple Pie Muffins | Healthy Living Revelations

Leave a Reply

