Daily Blog- Day 136: Apple Picking and Fall Blogging Challenge

Today has been a very relaxing day for me.  I had the day off from work, and originally I was planning on just resting all day.

IMG_5035

(how my day started 🙂 )

Until my parents asked if I wanted to go apple picking.

Um… YES!

We haven’t been able to go for the past few years since apples hadn’t been growing well.

There was one year we went and they actually turned us away because they didn’t have a single apple to sell!

Before we left, my dad and I went to Mayer Brothers to pick up some donuts and cider for the family.

IMG_5036 IMG_5038

Since it was really busy there, all the donuts were super fresh out of the oven.  When we paid for them, they were still warm.

You can not beat that.

We stopped home just in time to see my sister before she left for the bills game :).  It’s really weird, I grew up with her, so I’m not used to only seeing her in intervals.  It was a real treat to be able to see her today.  I had so much I wanted to talk to her about.  It’s amazing how fast time flies.

Apple picking was so much fun

IMG_5064 IMG_5068 IMG_5067 IMG_5065

Not only did we see a lot of apples, we saw fresh concord grapes

IMG_5071

and even baby BABY apples.

IMG_5069 IMG_5070

I actually tried one… they were sooo sour… but actually kind of good!

After we stopped at a pumpkin farm

IMG_5073

I picked up these.

IMG_5074 IMG_5076

You might be able to guess what I’m saving them for 🙂

On our way home, unfortunately we got pulled over for speeding.

The cop walked over to our car and told us so.  Then he looked in the back seat and asked my parents is that your daughter?

They responded yes and he said he’d let us go as long as they promised to buy me an ice cream cone!!

I was definitely able to follow orders on that one 🙂

IMG_5083

And so ends an awesome day.

Oh if you don’t already know, I’m hosting a Fall Blogging Challenge.  Each week I’m going to feature seasonal items to work with, and I want you to join me in this journey.  I’m going to be putting together a list of all the recipes we come up with and make.  If you make a recipe or have a recipe already, either comment on my blog the recipe, email it to me (kzdrowak820@gmail.com) or use the hashtag #FallBlogChallenge on twitter (@kzdrowak).  Everyone is welcome to join in.

This weeks seasonal fruit?

APPLES!!

IMG_5084

Good luck, and get cooking!

 

Leave a Reply

