Daily Blog- Day 137: Panera Bread Inspired Oatmeal Recipe

I started going to Panera for breakfast religiously last year with my dad.  We used to go at least once every single week and get breakfast together.  We still often get coffee, but not so much breakfast anymore.

I used to love getting their fall oatmeal.  It had apple chips, sliced almonds, dried cherries, and a cinnamon crunch topping.  Although I loved the combination of the ingredients, the stand out star for me was always the apple chips.

Since then, I’ve obviously learned a lot more about working with ingredients… especially apples.

If you read my last post, you know I successful have made my own homemade apple chips.  It made me realize that I can now make it at home… at no cost!

I’m all for that 🙂

Now, Panera uses steel cut oats, so obviously I wanted to do the same.

If you have never made them before, click here to learn.  Or you can read my post on how to prep quinoa if you want to make it in bulk.  The proportions are the same.

IMG_7724

Once you make them, make sure you have apple chips and then you can go to town with your toppings.

I decided to make up my own combination, so I added

1. ground flax seeds (2 tsp? I didn’t measure)

2. a handful of mixed nuts (peanuts, sliced almonds and walnuts)

3. those apple chips I mentioned 🙂

4. maple syrup to sweeten

Mix them all together and enjoy!

IMG_1432

Now you can go to panera and get the pumpkin bagel 🙂

Okay I’m off to Chipotle then I’m going to class.

Anyone come up with any apple recipes for the Fall Blogging Challenge yet?

Leave a Reply

